try the craigslist app » Android iOS
favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

Offering assistance with Children/ Adults with Special Needs (Reno)

Greetings,

My background is extensive with children (infants to teens) including raising a special needs child with cerebral palsy and starting a Day Camp for special needs children. I've also worked with elders with special needs as well as those with dementia and Alzheimer's Disease.

I would love to offer support to a family with a special needs child or an elder. I can work with any home program that has been set up, carrying out speech and/ or physical therapy, activities for daily living, recreational activities and/or child/elder care. I've had over 20 years experience of creating a positive learning environment for my son and other children, including swimming, piano lessons, tutoring as well as designing special work/ play areas for them in the home. I've had much success in the development of speech for the non-verbal child. Teaching in a creative and fun manner is my gift.

I've also had much experience with elder care, working with those with dementia and Alzheimer's Disease. I've done live-in care at times and have learned how to creatively handle a multitude of issues that arise. In one situation, I supported an 89 year old lady with advanced Alzheimer's Disease in remembering she did know how to play the piano in an amazing way.

I'm a very healthy and active young senior, former infant/ preschool educator and elementary teacher and continue to bring the JOY of playing the piano to all ages. I'm reliable, honest, non-smoker, non-drinker and have excellent references. If you are looking for someone with much experience to be with your children or elders, perhaps we are a match. I do charge $40 an hour for these specialized services but do have a sliding scale policy. So please do not allow my fee to stop you from inquiring.

In addition, I'm available to brainstorm with you any challenges you might be having with your child/ elder.
I also offer piano lessons for all ages. I can easily work with a variety of special considerations.

I'm available for part-time regular work in the mornings and/or early afternoon,. 10 am to 2 pm is the best time for me. And for piano lessons I'm available from 3 to 6 pm daily.

Looking forward to connecting with you,
sharon

PS I also work in Washoe Valley and Carson City.

  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6999533125

posted:

updated:

best of [?]